A trying period

Family life can be tough. I have been having some serious, emotionally-charged drama occurring with me eldest daughter, and despite my best intentions, I haven’t written. I have always been on close terms with my daughter, and having her suddenly tell me that she was miserable really threw me for a loop. I used to suffer from really bad depression, but I have (mostly) conquered it these days, except when something like this happens. So I haven’t written.

Happily, my daughter is returning to our home on the river again tomorrow, and while it is certain to be a little awkward and uncomfortable for a time, I will certainly be relieved to have her here again. Now I really need to get writing again. No more excuses.

In truth, I haven’t felt particularly guilty about not writing, I know that this situation was a valid reason to not write for a few days. I just didn’t have it in me, but now I feel like everything will be okay again, so it is time to get The Grove done. I want to power through it and move on to the next story, whatever that may be. I have been feeling a vibe to write a story set during the massive tsunami that devastated Japan in 2011. But, by the time I finish The Grove, it might be something else, so who knows?

 

