Ahh, the Holidays

Photo 'Royal Typewriter' Copyright (c) 2012 by Phooky using a Creative Commons license.

Photo ‘Royal Typewriter’ Copyright (c) 2012 by Phooky using a Creative Commons license.

Well, it has been a little chaotic on the river this last week. First I was knocked down by a severe multi-day headache caused by a sinus infection and exacerbated by a minute amount of alcohol. I hardly ever drink, but last week I decided to imbibe a little bit of Kahlua brought home by my girlfriend. I had two drinks, and both were pretty tiny, just a small shot of booze in each cup, but I might as well have drank the entire bottle so bad were the effects on my system. I had a headache within half an hour of consuming the Kahlua, and it didn’t go away until over thirty hours had passed. In fact, I am still having to fight off a headache nearly every day, and it has been almost a week since I drank it. I believe that I have an intolerance to alcohol — commonly known as an alcohol allergy. My system does not mix well with booze. Somehow the consumption really made my sinus infection skyrocket.

So that prevented me from writing for a few days. I was truly miserable, all I could do was lie down and moan, forget about writing, forget about keeping the schedule. Then when I started to get over it, it was time to get ready for Christmas, which has taken all my attention for the last several days. But now, finally, the holidays are essentially over, and I can start turning my attention back to keeping the schedule and writing. But not today.

Today is about recovering from the Holidays, getting the house cleaned and prepping the schedule for the rest of the week. It will be a little tricky, too. My partner is an instructional assistant, so she is not working until early January, plus all the kids are at home until the same time, so I won’t have a lot of time alone to write. Just going to have to take the computer into the bedroom and write there, or just find a way to write even with a house full of people. If we lived in town, I would just go out each day, find a coffee shop and write there, but since we live out in the woods, that just isn’t an option. I will just have to throw on the headphones, establish some concrete ground rules with the fam and stick to it!

I hope everyone out there had a fantastic holiday season. I know I did. I am glad it is over, however. Ready for life to return to some semblance of normalcy.

Cheers!

